1st Traffic Stop

legopolice.jpgOn my way home from the Segway Store, (got my brakes adjusted), I was pulled over on River Street, just north of Dundas, (going North). In fact, I was in the bike lane 🙂

The officer was nice, looked over my print-outs of the MTO documents and, then, called for a Traffic car for info.

Long story made short. Five cars showed up, (leaving their engines running), and everything went perfectly. I think I have to put those MTO print-outs in a binder and have them laminated. I ended up handing out 3 Segway Ontario business cards to the cops.

Also: I received word from the MTO today from their media contact, who has, in turn, put me in touch with the person supervising this pilot project.

Finally: It was cold today, about zero. I had a full charge and managed my longest run yet. I’m now at 198.4 Km. Note to self: Don Mills Road sucks. Even with a HOV lane there’s no way I can keep up with 60Km/hr traffic safely.

Explore posts in the same categories: Routes, The Law

26 Comments on “1st Traffic Stop”

  1. ebikerider Says:

    Now that it has happened, I have a case of the “should haves”. I should have taken the officers number so that other officers can refer to him should this happen in the future.

  2. joea500c Says:

    Hello Everyone.

    Just wanted to post that I have been charged with the offence by a municipal by-law officer with operating of a motor vehicle on a multi-use pathway within the city of London, Ontario. The charge is for $145.00. It sounds like the municipalities are not aware of the MOT ” Pilot program”. I have provided all information from the MOT site regarding the FAQ of E-bikes and the pilot program, and provided it to the officer. This did not help the situation. There seems to be a grey area within the meaning of a “motor vehicle.” Any ways, I have contacted Jim Woods on the matter and he was very helpful and ensured me that I was not in the wrong. Thanks Jim for your help. I will keep you all notified on what transpires. Take care and ride well.

  3. ebikerider Says:

    I don’t know about London, but here in Toronto it’s against municipal law to drive a motorized vehicle in a park. That means that about 50+ percent of Toronto’s bike routes are closed to us Ebike riders.

    That said. I wonder if you would have been charged if you were on a “peddle-assist” style bike, like the Schwinn.

  4. joea500c Says:

    Apparently yes, the officer did say that if it has a motor then it is not allowed in the park. On the other hand, as long as the e-bike fits the description and meets the standards stated by the MTO under the pilot program they would be allowed wherever regular bikes are permitted. But I guess it is up to the municipal by-laws to adhere to the MTO on this one.

    During the pilot, where can a power-assisted bicycle travel?
    · Power-assisted bicycles will be able to travel anywhere a bicycle travels.
    · They will be permitted on trails and paths where municipal by-laws permit bicycles
    · Power-assisted bicycles, like bicycles are not allowed on controlled-access highways such as the 400 series highways, the Queen Elizabeth Way, the Queensway in Ottawa or the Kitchener-Waterloo Expressway, or on municipal roads, including sidewalks where bicycles are banned under municipal by-laws.

  5. ebikerider Says:

    Joe500C
    You’re right, and you’re wrong. You’re right about the pilot project rules, but…

    The municipal laws are in addition to provincial and federal laws and apply equally.

  6. joea500c Says:

    I have heard that this is not an elective program. All cities within the province of Ontario are to adapt to the program.

  7. joea500c Says:

    Also, for this Pilot program, the E-bike is not considered a motorized vehicle, so it should be allowed in a park.

  8. ebikerider Says:

    Sorry Joea … I checked with the MTO, the OPP and Metro Police. Ebikes are Motorized Vehicles under the HTA. They’re called “Motor Assisted Bicycles”

  9. joea500c Says:

    Goodmorning Ebikerider,

    If your e-bike fits the criteria of the “E-bike” by definition and is covered under the Pilot Program then for three years the “Motorzed Assisted Bicycle” should be permitted on trails and paths where municipal by-laws permit bicycles.

  10. ebikerider Says:

    Check the post called “No Ebikes in da Park!”


  11. […] Traffic Stop I was stopped again, for the 2nd time, I was in the bike lane going North on Spadina, just past Dundas. With all that […]

  12. londonebiker Says:

    I find joea500c post about getting a ticket for riding on the bike path in London interesting as I’m from London myself. Anyone know how that situation panned out? I’m considering the purchase of an E Bike and had planned to use it on the bike path that’s close to my house for my daily commute to the downtown core. I’ve read the sign at the entrance to our bike path and it says no “motorized vehicles” but I also read the pilot project stuff on the MTO site and it says….

    5. During the pilot, where can a power-assisted bicycle travel?

    * Power-assisted bicycles will be able to travel anywhere a bicycle travels.
    * They will be permitted on trails and paths where municipal by-laws permit bicycles
    * Power-assisted bicycles, like bicycles are not allowed on controlled-access highways such as the 400 series highways, the Queen Elizabeth Way, the Queensway in Ottawa or the Kitchener-Waterloo Expressway, or on municipal roads, including sidewalks where bicycles are banned under municipal by-laws.

    I’m confused…lol

  13. ebikerider Says:

    londonebiker:
    Read the thread called No Ebikes in the Park.

  14. londonebiker Says:

    I’ve read that thread but it’s all in regards to the trials & tribulations faced in the GTA. I’ve just finished going through the City of London’s website from top to bottom and I see nothing in the bylaws, cycling path\routes\lanes, parks & rec pages etc that even mentions e bikes. I would think if the city had a problem with them they would most likely post something on their site or make some kind of local media announcement but just to be sure I’m going to contact city hall and the MTO tomorrow and get some sense of direction on the matter.

  15. ebikerider Says:

    Well, my understanding is… if the local municipality has restrictions on motorized vehicles, then, you’d better not use a motorized vehicle.

    Kinda like owning a lion. Some towns just don’t like it and so, create a by-law….. yadda yadda yadda.

  16. philipmcd Says:

    “5. During the pilot, where can a power-assisted bicycle travel?

    * Power-assisted bicycles will be able to travel anywhere a bicycle travels.
    * They will be permitted on trails and paths where municipal by-laws permit bicycles”

    How much clearer can that be coming from the MTO? I purchased an e-bike assuming this was the case. Why is it that all of a sudden municipal officials can override that? If the MTO wants to change the rules now perhaps they can reimburse those people who are reluctant to drive on roads where hostile automobile drivers are lurking. I can see them clarifying things after the pilot project ends but not after the fact. I am surprised that so many here seem resigned to avoiding most of the bike trails in our cities. Perhaps this is a difference between the Veloteq owners and the i-Zip type bikes?

    Some real clarifications seem to be in order, but from whom?

    philip

  17. ebikerider Says:

    Phil:
    See the lion story above. Federal/Provincial laws allow you to have a private petting zoo, with lions if you like.

    Toronto law says, no wild animals or petting zoos, (or something like that), so, no lions in TO.

    Same thing applies for Ebikes.

  18. philipmcd Says:

    Heh… that lion story is hilarious. Guess we’ll have to get rid of our cats:)

    Do we know which bike paths are considered ebike hostile?

    philip

  19. ebikerider Says:

    Only if/when they kill 🙂

    The only paths I know for sure that are closed to “motorized vehicles” are those operated/owned by Metro Parks here in Toronto.

  20. philipmcd Says:

    “The only paths I know for sure that are closed to “motorized vehicles” are those operated/owned by Metro Parks here in Toronto.”

    Doesn’t that include all of them (in Toronto)?

    philip

  21. ebikerider Says:

    The answer Philip is: I don’t know.

    For example. The parklands around the lakeshore are technically, provincial. As for the York Regional Forest – I don’t have a clue, same same for Bruces Mill or Black Creek Pioneer Village. All of these are in metro and all have bike paths, none are managed by Metro Parks and Rec, (that I know of).

  22. rickonstclair Says:

    does any body know were i can download the laws on ebikes i got pulled over yesterday and told to go check the laws because he read were it said that they have to have plates. next time they would take it

  23. ebikerider Says:

    Rick,
    Everything you need can be downloaded (and printed) from this website.
    Check out the Govt links from the main page.

    I laminated mine and I’ve more encounters with the police than I can count, and every experience has been positive.

    Start with a smile, and finish with all the right paperwork.

  24. bill103 Says:

    Hi i am looking to buy the bionx system and i have been having a difficult time finding the awnsers to these three questions

    1) the PL350W motor bionx bike peaks at 600w and the PL250W peaks at 400w… does that mean the PL350 isnt road legal with the pilot program?
    2)The pilot FAQ states that i need a label from the manufactuer saying that the bionx conversion kit i am buying is a certified ebike. will bionx affix this to thier battery or motor or something i dont want to spend 2000$ to find it labeless and thus unable to be used.
    3) I’m looking for a good conversion kit and sofar bionx seems to be the best other than that any recommendations….possibly cheaper?

    Thx so mch for any awnsers im really struggling with this initial palnning 😛
    -Bill

  25. chinalton Says:

    Hey Bill,

    Those are some good questions and unfortunately, I only know the answer to one of them.

    I was also looking at the Bionx kit a few months ago and I emailed The Cyclepath on Coxwell and Danforth asking about the ebike label as well, and this was their response

    “The bionx kit does not bear that label. It is sold as a conversion kit not as a vehicle.”

    I’m not entirely sure if that’s accurate, but the point is no, it doesn’t come with that label.

    I ultimately decided that the Bionx kit was too expensive for me so I ended up going on ebay and buying from a dealer in Quebec. You might be interested in checking him out as he’s an authorized Canadian dealer of CurrieTech but his ebay prices are actually really good (assuming you use ebay, which I hope you do because I got my ebike for $800 with free shipping) and you get all the benefits as though you purchased from a retailing store.

    His website is http://www.amtizipcanada.com
    and his seller id on ebay is agence_thivierge

  26. lockhughes Says:

    Howdy ppl
    If you ever need unbiased info about Bionx etc systems you might intro yourself in the EV Forums at Endless Sphere:
    http://endless-sphere.com/forums/index.php

    With regards to Toronto Parks.

    The City bylaw restricts motorized RECREATIONAL vehicles.

    At the same time, the Parks system maintains acres of park lands as paved parking lots, available free and designed to encourage ppl to drive their cars through the city and into the parks…

    Toronto Parks constitute one eight of the city land area, and include some of the safest roads and trails and paths… a ban across the Parks system is a serious barrier to the intro of power-assist vehicles.

    If you are travelling Toronto Parks paths on the way to work, this is NOT recreational!

    The Parks ban against power-assist is completely beyond their rights according to City Bylaw.

    When city council asked Parks Dept about the situation, Parks responded that they do NOT restrict vehicles, so at best City Council have been mislead about the situation.

    Tks
    Lock


Leave a Reply

